IMG_6249

Me talking about pork, I really do love my job!!

Hi, my name is Pam Voelkel, I work for Minnesota Pork Board and my job is to promote pork. My title is Director of Events, so I organize and find the different events that we participate in throughout the year.

Grandma’s Marathon in Duluth was our first marathon where we had a booth to talk with runners about adding pork into their healthy lifestyle. I think the runners have actually started to wear off on me!!

This year, my goal is to run the William A. Irvin 5K on Friday before the Grandma’s Marathon. This is a daunting task right now and I am beginning to wonder if I have bitten off more than I can chew….

I have tried to start with some pilates exercises, so far it is going pretty well. My 15 year old daughter has now decided she will begin walking/running with me. We are hoping the weather next week warms up enough for us to be able to get outside after school/work to start the training program.

Today was the official day to sign up for the 5K, I did it! Well, step one down, many more to go. I will try to do weekly updates so I will be able to track my progress and I am hoping with having this out on the blog will provide some extra push to complete the goal. 🙂

 

