It’s seems timely that the first snowfall of the season falls on the start of basketball season. Today Beth’s 5th grade girls’ basketball team had their first practice. As the coach, I told the girls I had two goals for them this season, which really are the same as last season; to have fun and to learn and improve.  

For those of you that have followed this blog, you know that Power Power has not only dealt with what we do, how we eat and how we train. It’s also dealt with what we think and how will feel. For these girls it’s just as important to have a positive self-image about themselves and confidence in what they do, as it is to make a basket. I also like to stress teamwork and supporting and encouraging each other through the games.

I enjoy coaching and have been fortunate to coach a number of the kid’s teams in a variety of sports. It’s not just the winning, although I am competitive. I enjoy watching a group of kids work together to accomplish common goals. I love to see the “Ah Ha” moment on their faces when the things I have been telling them finally make sense and they actually do them.

So stay tuned, basketball season has started and we’re in for a fun time.

