Each year the United South Central cross-country team holds a scrimmage to kick off the season. It is an opportunity for new runners and their parents to meet the families involved. To create a competition, Coach Vies invites alumni to run. This year there was a great turnout of alumni, enough to create a full team to face off against the current boys and girls teams respectively.

I am proud to say that I was the oldest male alum there. That in itself nearly guaranteed finishing first in my age group! I did clock a pretty impressive time (19:19) for the 4800 meter course and finished 4th overall, so my points counted (maybe the first time in a varsity meet). Brett (20:53) and Adam (14:11 for 2 miles) did fairly well also, and it is fun to run in races with them.

I will also say that today I moved into a new age-group for racing, at least at those that break things down in 5 year intervals.

Time to take off for a birthday supper in Fairmont, so I will cut this short.

“Perseverance is not a long race; it is many short races one after another.” (Walter Elliott)

