Hi,  My name is Teresa.  I am 42 year old.  I am the mother of 4 daughters and am married to a farmer.  He raises corn, soybeans and pigs.  We have been farming for 20 yrs.  I am the daughter of a farmer.  He also raised pigs.  The industry has supported me my entire life and now I feel that I should give back. I will run Grandma’s half marathon wearing a Pork Power shirt and raising awareness of pork and it’s benefits. 

I am also I cardiology nurse.  I see the effects of inactivity on my patients.  We as a society need to move!  Exercise is medicine. 

I have been running (or moving forward down a road) for about 9 years.  I started after I have my 4 daughter.  I realize that I need to loose weight and I also need sometime to myself.  This is what I love to do.  I have run 2 previous 1/2 marathons.  Grandma’s and Minneapolis.  I will run Dam to Dam in DesMoines on June 5 and then do Grandma’s 1/2 on June 19.  I am looking forward to the fun. 

I also want to let you know that we eat pork at out home.  Our favorite thing to do now is smoke pork.  We place a loin on my husband Treager smoker and let it slowly cook.  It is so good.  I love it hot,  or cold on a sandwich the next day. 

I will share more as time goes on.  I also want to let you know that I have been blogging, but not successfully on this site.  You can find it on my personal blog via WordPress.  Have a nice night

