Finally some sunshine, I have talked to more people who were feeling bummed about all the cloudy weather. In true Minnesota fashion, once we get warm weather, we get out and enjoy it, and in some cases overdue it.

Last Friday was Track & Field day at Adam and Beth’s school. It’s a combination of running, jumping and silly events for the kids to compete in. Adam ran his best 1600 m, with a 5:48 time. He was happy to get the school record. I on the other hand, seemed to have pulled a hamstring muscle. Who knew that squatting down 100 times to measure the long jump could cause muscle strain. Next time I stretch before I measure.

Saturday was filled with outdoor chores, mowing the lawn, trimming around the buildings and washing the car. I was able to get in a 15 mile bike ride, which felt really good.

Sunday was more lawn mowing and washing the van. Dale was able to finish planting the garden, which meant putting in green beans, sweet corn, tomatoes, beets, muskmelon and squash. Our potatoes, onions, spinach and lettuce that were planted earlier are growing nicely. That evening Dale and the boys went to see Clash of the Titans, while Beth and I stayed home. She rode bike with me as I ran 2 miles. My muscles seemed a little sore, but it was still good to run.

I treasure weekends like we just enjoyed. It’s that combination of hard work outdoors, plus relaxing and enjoying the beautiful weather that leaves you with a good kind of tired at the end of the day.

