For the most part, my workouts are to help keep me fit vs. preparing for a competition. I like to have a routine where I’m working out about every other day. This week I was out of town for a few days and wasn’t able to work out. I’m not sure if it’s more mental or physical, but I usually feel a little guilty not keeping my routine. It’s as if I’m afraid all the progress I’ve made will disappear.

My first night back home I jumped on the treadmill and did 20 minutes of intervals. For me, that’s running fast for 2 minutes and then walking at a good speed for 2 minutes and then repeating the sequence. It felt good to stretch my legs and challenge my muscles. Over the weekend I did a 2 mile run on the treadmill at about the same pace or a little faster than I had previously done.

Whatever the routine, it’s important to get regular exercise. I can see it’s important for my kids too. If they go through a stretch where they haven’t exercised and have sat around quite a bit, they seem out of sorts and a little edgy. For our family, exercise needs to be part of our routine to keep both our body and mind in shape.

