Sometimes keeping your health in check during training can be a challenge.  We have had a little bug going through our home, and Maddie has picked up a cough.  You need to be very in touch with your body to know whether to keep training or take a break during illness.  Since Maddie hasn’t had a lot of experience, she’s relying on me to help her out.  We ran a quick four miles together yesterday, but Maddie is taking today off. 

Any race we have done together so far, Maddie has done without any training.  She is in great shape.  Obviously, you can’t run 13 miles without training, but Maddie is going to run less than me during training in order for us to try to run the same pace come race day.  I told her she can run at her own pace the last mile to the finish.  I’m sure she will take advantage of that 🙂

Along with getting enough rest in order to stay healthy, it is important to eat right.  I’ve got a lot of tips I will share along the way, but today I will include a meatball recipe that I fixed for my family last night.  I was given this recipe by my Aunt Joanne when Brandon and I got married, and have used it A LOT~

  • 1 lb ground pork                        1/2 tsp chili powder
  • 1 lb ground beef                          1/2 tsp oregano
  • 2 eggs                                               1/2 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 c. milk                                     1 tsp worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tsp salt                                          1 small chopped onion

Beat eggs – mix with milk.  Soak torn break in egg mixture.  Mix all ingredients.  Shape into balls.  Brown in 400 degree oven about 30 minutes.  Drain fat.  Serve with BBQ sauce, ketchup, or even cream of mushroom soup.  Delicious!

