I’m running a 5K. Boy that sounds different. While I’ve been active with various sports, especially biking the last few years, I haven’t run competitively since college. So why am I doing it? Three reasons actually. One, I’m excited that MN Pork Board is a sponsor of Grandma’s Marathon and I want to be part of the Pork Power team. Two, my 3 kids and husband have been running the last few years and I’ve felt a little left out. The final reason, I want to challenge myself.

So follow me as I take on this new challenge. I’m also going to share with you some ideas on how to make pork part of a healthy, nutritious diet. As a pork producer, I cook a lot of pork, but I’m always looking for something new and exciting, that’s easy to prepare. When I find something, I’ll share it with you. So here I go, with this thought. “What lies behind us and what lies before us compares little to what lies within us.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

