Ever had a task you knew you needed to do, but it still overwhelmed you? If you recall, I’ve been increasing my running mileage to get closer to a 5K. But the time had come when I knew I needed to run the 3.1 miles, to break through my barrier. Fortunately the other day Dale’s training called for an easy workout; a perfect opportunity for us to run together. When the time came, I’d been busy with other tasks, plus the wind was blowing; again. It would have been easy to postpone the run, but I knew I wouldn’t be happy with myself. I admitted my nervousness to Dale as we started out down the road. Well, 3.1 miles later I had completed a great run, filled with confidence, knowing I’d overcome my fears.

My son Adam is experiencing the same situation as he faces the possibility of running the 4×100 relay for an upcoming track meet. When I asked him about his apprehension, it had to do with never having run that short of distance. He isn’t confident that’s he’s fast enough. Time will tell how things turn out.

What don’t we do because we are afraid? How do we teach our kids to face up to their fears and apprehensions and to help them understand that in the end, they will be a better person for doing so?

You gain strength, courage and confidence by every experience in which you really stop to look fear in the face. You must do the thing, which you think you cannot do.
Eleanor Roosevelt

